Further information on viewing
conditions, the site index and site
Google search facility

Graphic of Frost's Scottish Anatomy

Treaty of York

The Treaty of York was signed by Henry III of England and Alexander II of Scotland in 1237. The treaty set the border between England and Scotland. The agreement specifically defined the boundary between the two kingdoms as running between the Solway Firth (in the west) and the mouth of the River Tweed (in the east). There has been various disputes -- noteable is a small area around Berwick, which was taken by England in 1482 but conversely England lost the land south of the Tweed which had once encompassed towns such as Melrose, Roxburgh, Galashiels, Selkirk, Jedburgh and Hawick. It is thus one of the oldest extant borders in the world, although Berwick was only fully annexed by England by the Wales and Berwick Act 1746 (It was not included in Northumberland for parliamentary purposes until 1885) and the dispute over the English/Scottish Border towns was confined to the history books.   

With the Treaty of York, Alexander II abandoned traditional Scottish claims to the regions of Northumbria, south of the Tweed, and Cumbria.

Northumbria had history, predating the competing claims of England and Scotland, as a kingdom stretching from the Humber to the Forth.

See also
Anglo–Scottish border

Return to contents page of Frost's Scottish Anatomy